ITLA FYI



Posted by: Avery Roberts on Feb 24, 2021

 
 
The seventh week of the 2021 Idaho Legislative Session has brought forth a flurry of activity. Late last week a competing UIM bill was introduced that is supported by the insurance industry.

We are grateful Idaho insurance providers have finally recognized the unfair and unjust practice of offsetting a person's UIM coverage. However, the competing bill, SB 1129, only offers a partial fix to the offset problem. This bill would only require excess coverage when a person's UIM policy is “two times the minimum limits set forth in §49-117(20)”. This simply gives the first $25k to those who only have $25k in UIM.
 
Both bills are currently scheduled to be heard Tuesday, March 2nd at 1:30 p.m. MST in the Senate Commerce & Human Resources Committee. 

We need you to double-down. Please phone or email the Senate Commerce and Human Resources Committee to support Senator Rigg's bill, SB 1118. Be sure to let us know the opinion of the legislator you have connected with.

Here are the ways that you can help:

Contact Members of the Legislature 
A list of the Senate Commerce & Human Resources Committee Members can be found below and a complete list of the members of the Idaho Legislature can be found here
 
Sen. Jim Patrick, Chairman 
(208) 332-1318
JPatrick@senate.idaho.gov

Senator Mary Souza, Vice Chairman
(208) 332-1322
MSouza@senate.idaho.gov

Senator Fred Martin
(208) 332-1407
FMartin@senate.idaho.gov

Senator Todd Lakey
(208) 332-1328
TLakey@senate.idaho.gov

Senator Jim Guthrie
(208) 332-1348
JGuthrie@senate.idaho.gov

Senator Jeff Agenbroad
(208) 332-1329
JAgenbroad@senate.idaho.gov

Senator Peter Riggs
(208) 332-1338
Riggs@senate.idaho.gov

Senator Janie Ward-Engelking
(208) 332-1425
JWardEngelking@senate.idaho.gov

Senator Grant Burgoyne
(208) 332-1409
GBurgoyne@senate.idaho.gov

Amplify our Message
We have begun sharing information and updates on our social media platforms like Facebook and Twitter. Liking, sharing, and commenting on these posts will help spread our message, especially sharing on your platforms.
 
Client Advocacy
Your clients are the most impacted by offset provisions in UIM coverage. Client stories play a critical role in illustrating to the legislators just how Idaho law impacts their lives. If you are or have represented clients that have been impacted by the offset provision, please ask them if they could share their story. There are a variety of ways you and your clients can contact legislators, from writing a letter to testifying to a committee. We are more than happy to guide you and your client through this process. 
 
As always, we appreciate your willingness to be a part of this work. Please give us a call at (208) 345-1890 or send an email to itla@itla.org if you have any questions.