Posted by: Avery Roberts on Jun 25, 2019



June 25, 2019
BOISE, ID — The Idaho Trial Lawyers Association elected officers for the 2019-2020 term and recognized two distinguished attorneys during their 47th Annual Meeting, June 14-15 in Sun Valley.
Installed as ITLA officers for the 2018-2019 term are President Jarom A. Whitehead, Twin Falls; President-elect Taylor L. Mossman-Fletcher, Boise; Treasurer T. Guy Hallam, Boise; Secretary Russell L. Johnson, Nampa; and American Association for Justice Delegate, Eric S. Rossman, Boise.
Erika Birch of Boise was presented with the 2019 James J. May Trial Lawyer of the Year Award.  The award, named after founding member and ITLA’s first president, retired Fifth District Judge James J. May, is presented to an outstanding trial lawyer who not only exemplifies excellence in the practice of law, but is active in their community and dedicated to the preservation of the civil justice system.
Birch is a partner of Strindberg & Scholnick, LLC, a small regional firm focusing on employment and labor law. Since graduating from University of Colorado School of Law in 2000, her primary focus has been litigating employment and civil rights claims. Erika moved to Boise in the fall of 2007 to open the firm’s Boise office.
She is the past Chair of the ISB labor and employment law section, on the Board of the ITLA, and a member of the American Association for Justice, National Employment Lawyer’s Association, the Federal Bar Association, and the Idaho Women Lawyers. Erika has received awards from the Idaho State Bar for her pro bono work (2013), Outstanding Service (2014), and the Diversity Section’s Justice For All award (2015), and was an honored recipient of ITLA’s Walter H. Bithell Professionalism Award (2017). She serves on various non-profit boards and law-related committees and has volunteered her time for pro bono clients at ITLA’s Street Law Clinic.
Erica S. Phillips of Boise was honored with the 2019 Walter H. Bithell Professionalism Award.  This award recognizes commitment to integrity, excellence and professionalism as a lawyer for all clients, colleagues, judges and staff in the representation of injured citizens.
Phillips is an Idaho native and a graduate of the University of Idaho (B.A. 1993; J.D. 1999, summa cum laude).  She was admitted to the Idaho State Bar in 1999 and is licensed to practice in the state and federal courts in Idaho. Following law school, she clerked for then-Chief Justice Linda Copple Trout at the Idaho Supreme Court from 1999 to 2000. She has been in private practice since 2000.
She is an attorney at Rossman Law Group, PLLC. Her practice focuses in the areas of employment law and medical malpractice litigation throughout the State of Idaho. She serves a board member for the Idaho Trial Lawyers Association and the ITLA Foundation, Inc.
The Idaho Trial Lawyers Association is a statewide, voluntary bar association dedicated to access to the courts for all Idahoans, and the improvement of the administration of justice.
NEWS MEDIA CONTACT: Avery Roberts, Director of Communication
208-345-1890 or