Trial Lawyer of the Year

The James J. May Trial Lawyer of the Year Award recognized excellence in trial advocacy, commitment to defending justice inside and outside of the legal community, and generosity and dedication to the mission of ITLA. 

This award is presented yearly in Sun Valley at the annual conference in June. Anyone may nominate a lawyer to receive this award and the winner will be selected by an independent committee. 

2019:  Erika Birch

2018:  Howard A. Belodoff

2017:  Robert C. Huntley

2016:  John A. Bush

2015: Timothy C. Walton

2014: Richard S. Owen

2013: David E. Comstock

2012: Tim Gresback

2011: Kurt D. Holzer

2010: William L. Mauk

2009: Jim C. Harris

2008: Breck H. Barton

2007: Kenneth L. Pedersen

2006: Walter H. Bithell

2005: Darrell W. Aherin

2004: Andrew M. Chasan

2003: Steve Verby

Walter H. Bithell Professionalism Award

In recognition of outstanding professionalism in the practice of law for integrity, fairness, passion for the law and the exemplary courtesy steadfastly extended to all - clients, colleaques, judges and staff.

2019 - Erica S. Phillips

2018 - Rebecca Rainey

2017 - Erika Birch

2016 - Michael H. Hinman

2015 - Dennis S. Voorhees

2014 - Andrew M. Chasan

2013 - Kelly K. Kumm

2012 - Lynn M. Luker

2011 - Anthony C. Anegon

2010 - Albert C. Matsuura 


ITLA Civil Justice Partner Award

In recognition and appreciation of the many years of support in our efforts to improve civil justice.  

2016 - John Glenn Hall